ECCLESIASTÉS 1:2 : Carlos Salazar-Lermont, Curated by Wil Ruggiero

ECCLESIASTÉS 1:2 : Carlos Salazar
Curated by Wil Ruggiero

Exhibition Dates: July 2, 2020 – August 30, 2020

The title of the show is inspired by the verse of the Bible, which claims that “everything is meaningless”. Composed of performance art-imbued photography and video, Ecclesiastés 1:2 mines the tension and limits between body and material, an uncomfortable and visceral ambivalence. In many ways, each work surges out of the turmoiled territory of contemporary Venezuela, Salazar-Lermont’s country of origin. The artist immerses his own body in the history of the still-life and its implicit Judeo-Christian iconographies, agitating their very embeddedness in our social order. The result is a meditation, be it unresolved, on mortality at the core of being.

Ecclesiastés 1:2 is the first exhibition by Salazar-Lermont to solely focus on non-ephemeral work. The exhibition brings together their most recognized work from their art career for the first time.

To schedule a visit, please contact us at info@chuquimarca.com. We kindly ask you to wear a face mask and we have a 3 person capacity.


Programmed Events / Eventos Programados:

Historia Reciente De La Performance Venezolana with Raúl Rodríguez and Carlos Salazar-Lermont
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UH-cRntfgyo&t=8s

Upcoming Events / Proxímo Eventos:

Ecclesiastés 1:9 – Performance by Carlos Salazar-Lermont
7PM Chicago / 8PM Caracas
Thursday, July 30, 2020

Performance will be through Instagram Live: / El performance será através de Instagram Live: @chuquimarca.projects

Body in Vain: A conversation with Carlos Salazar-Lermont and Wil Ruggiero, moderated by Marina Resende Santos
7-8PM Chicago / 8-9PM Caracas
Thursday, August 06, 2020

Zoom Registration: / Registro de Zoom: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJUqcOmvrTopH9GBZndZDAzELSqsVJenRUjc